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COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA 
Department of Employment Dispute Resolution 

 

DIVISION OF HEARINGS 
 

DECISION OF HEARING OFFICER 
 
 

In re: 
 

Case Number:  8789 
 
       
         Hearing Date:               February 25, 2008 
                    Decision Issued:           February 27, 2008 
 
 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY 
 
 Grievant was denied leave for November 20, 2007 thereby causing him to enter 
leave without pay status.  On November 26, 2007, Grievant timely filed a grievance to 
challenge the Agency’s action.  The outcome of the Third Resolution Step was not 
satisfactory to the Grievant and he requested a hearing.  On January 28, 2008, the 
Department of Employment Dispute Resolution assigned this appeal to the Hearing 
Officer.  On February 25, 2008, a hearing was held at the Agency’s regional office.  
 
 

APPEARANCES 
 
Grievant 
Agency Party Designee 
Agency Representative 
Witnesses 
 
 

ISSUES 
 

1. Whether the Agency complied with State policy? 
 

2. Whether the relief Grievant seeks should be granted? 
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BURDEN OF PROOF 
 

The burden of proof is on the Grievant to show by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the relief he seeks should be granted.  Grievance Procedure Manual 
(“GPM”) § 5.8.  A preponderance of the evidence is evidence which shows that what is 
sought to be proved is more probable than not.  GPM § 9. 

 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
 After reviewing the evidence presented and observing the demeanor of each 
witness, the Hearing Officer makes the following findings of fact: 
 
 The Virginia Department of Transportation employs Grievant as an Equipment 
Repair Technician Senior at one of its Facilities.  He is a non-exempt employee under 
the Fair Labor Standards Act.  His customary work shift is from 7 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.  
Grievant usually works 40 hours per week.   
 
 Grievant is a valuable employee.  For example, he recently received the 
Technician of the Year award from the Agency.  Grievant must attend training in another 
part of the State.  In order to arrive in time for the training, Grievant must often leave the 
Agency’s Shop at 6:30 a.m.  After the training ends, Grievant must drive back to the 
Agency’s Shop and typically arrives at 5 p.m.  By attending training, Grievant typically 
works 2 hours more than his usual eight hour day.  Grievant also participates in other 
duties for the Agency that require him to extend his work day.  For example, Grievant 
was a member of the Laptop Committee and a representative for the Combined Virginia 
Campaign in 2007.   
 
 Grievant’s Supervisor was responsible for managing several VDOT Shops.  
When he took over four years ago, he adopted the practice of the former supervisor 
regarding leave.  The former supervisor permitted employees working more than 40 
hours in a week to accumulate those hours and then apply them to work days for which 
the employee was not actually at work.  Initially, the former supervisor had an employee 
who kept a ledger for all of the additional hours of work performed by Facility 
employees.  Employees were supposed to report their extra hours earned and taken to 
the employee with the ledger.  When the employee with the ledger’s position was 
abolished, the former supervisor instructed Grievant and other employees in the Facility 
to keep track of their extra hours and to take them under an honor system.  Employees 
were not required to keep any written documentation of their accumulated hour 
balances.  For the sake of simplicity, the Hearing Officer will refer to this leave as Honor 
Leave. 
 
 When Grievant’s Supervisor took over from the former supervisor, he continued 
the former supervisor’s practice but his interpretation of that practice required a 
restriction.  That restriction was that an employee who worked additional hours one day 
during the week must use those hours in the remainder of that week or the following 
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week.  In other words, if an employee worked 10 hours on Monday, the employee had 
to use the extra two hours accumulated on Monday to offset work on Tuesday, 
Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday of that week or in the following week. 
 
 Grievant submits his time sheet to the Lead Technician, not to Grievant’s 
Supervisor.  The Lead Technician applies Honor Leave in accordance with the past 
practice except that the Lead Technician does not interpret the Honor Leave system to 
require an employee to use leave accrued on one day to be used in that week or the 
following week.  He permits employees to carry Honor Leave for a longer period of time.   
   
 Grievant has a reputation for honesty and truthfulness.  There is no reason to 
believe Grievant was attempting to manipulate the Agency’s leave system.   
 
 On October 17, 2007, Grievant was standing outside the Shop and observed the 
electrocution of an individual1 working on electrical wires.  Since Grievant was a 
witness, it was necessary for him to participate in a civil suit arising from the death.  
Grievant received a subpoena requiring him to appear at the local Circuit Court at 11 
a.m. on November 20, 2007.       
 
 On November 20, 2007 at 8 a.m., Grievant met with one of the attorney’s in the 
civil suit.  The attorney wanted Grievant to explain what he had observed that day.  
Later on, Grievant went to the Courthouse and waited until the case was heard.  At 
approximately 3:15 p.m., the case ended and Grievant left the Courthouse.   
 
 Grievant submitted a leave slip to receive civil leave for eight hours on November 
20, 2007.  The Agency noted that the subpoena required him to be in court at 11 a.m. 
and doubted he would be eligible for civil leave from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m.  After some 
consideration, the Agency decided to grant Grievant civil leave from 10 a.m. until 3:30 
p.m.  Grievant was given an hour before the time stated on the subpoena in order for 
Grievant to go home from work and change his clothes for court.  The result was that 
Grievant was denied civil leave from 7 a.m. until 10 a.m. on November 20, 2007. 
 
 Grievant did not have any available leave balances as recorded by the Agency’s 
Financial Management System 2 as of November 20, 2007.  Because Grievant did not 
have any available leave balances, the Agency placed Grievant on Leave Without Pay 
status beginning November 20, 2007.  When an employee is on Leave Without Pay 
status that employee may not be paid for holidays.  November 21, 2007 was a holiday 
for 4 hours.  November 22, 2007 and November 23, 2007 were also holidays.  Because 
Grievant was placed on Leave Without Pay status as of November 20, 2007, he did not 
receive payment for 20 hours of holiday leave. 
 
 

                                                           
1   The individual was not a State employee. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF POLICY 
 
 VDOT granted Grievant five hours of civil leave for November 20, 2007 to enable 
him to attend court in response to a subpoena.  DHRM Policy 4.05 provides: 
 

Civil and Work-Related Leave is granted to the employee to fulfill the civic 
duties and functions listed below. Agencies must permit employees to be 
away from work for these purposes: 

• To appear as a crime victim or as a witness in a court proceeding or 
deposition as compelled by a subpoena or summons. 

 
Grievant was entitled to civil leave on November 20, 2007 because he had been 
subpoenaed to appear in court.  His mandated appearance in court began at 11 a.m.  
The Agency’s decision to award Grievant civil leave from 10 a.m. until 3:30 a.m. is 
supported by DHRM policy.  Even if the Hearing Officer assumes for the sake of 
argument that Grievant’s meeting with the attorney at the scene of the accident was 
pursuant to the subpoena, Grievant would not be able to account for the one hour of 
work he missed from 7 a.m. until 8 a.m.   
 
 Grievant did not have available leave balances as of November 20, 2007 and the 
Agency placed him on Leave Without Pay Status.  Under DHRM Policy 4.45, the 
“effective date of an employee's conditional or unconditional leave without pay is the 
first workday missed.”  Thus, the Agency’s decision to place Grievant on Leave Without 
Pay status effective November 20, 2007 was consistent with DHRM Policy. 
 
 Because Grievant was on Leave Without Pay beginning November 20, 2007, he 
was not entitled to be paid for 20 hours of holiday leave beginning on November 21, 
2007.  DHRM Policy 4.25 provides: 
 

To be eligible to receive holiday pay and/or compensatory leave 
employees must: 
 

• be present at work or on paid leave on their last scheduled work 
day before the holiday; and; 

• be present at work or on paid leave on their first scheduled work 
day after the holiday. 

 
Employees who do not have leave to cover this period of time will not be 
eligible to receive the holiday(s). 
 
FLSA non-exempt employees are eligible for holiday pay unless they are 
on leave without pay any portion of their last scheduled work day before 
the holiday, their first scheduled day after the holiday, or the day of the 
actual holiday. This will result in loss of holiday pay. 
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 Grievant argues that he should be able to apply three hours of his accrued Honor 
Leave to November 20, 2007 thereby preventing him from entering Leave Without Pay 
status.  Grievant argues that his Honor Leave should be considered Compensatory 
Leave under DHRM Policy 3.10.  Under this policy, “[c]ompensatory leave is paid time 
off for an eligible employee having worked additional hours in a workweek; having 
worked on an official office closing day, a holiday, or a scheduled day off; or when a 
holiday falls on an employee's scheduled day off.”  
 

A non-exempt employee is eligible to earn compensatory leave only when 
the hours worked in a workweek are 40 hours or less. If a non-exempt 
employee works more than 40 hours, the Overtime Leave policy (Policy 
3.15) applies. 

EXAMPLE:  
A non-exempt employee who works ten hours on Monday, calls in sick on 
Tuesday, and works eight hours on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday will 
receive two hours of compensatory leave for the extra hours worked on 
Monday, rather than overtime leave, because the employee did not 
actually work over 40 hours during the workweek.  

 
Compensatory leave “must be authorized in writing by the agency head or his/her 
designee.”  In addition, that authorization must be in writing and “authorized before the 
employee works the hours that result in compensatory leave.”   
 
 No evidence has been presented to show that Grievant’s Honor Leave was 
authorized in writing in advance by the Agency Head or his designee.  In addition, it 
does not appear that the additional hours of work are of the type that would meet the 
requirements for compensatory leave.  Grievant worked hours that were in excess of 40 
hours per week.  Compensatory leave would be appropriate for a non-exempt employee 
only “when the hours worked in a workweek are 40 hours or less.”  When Grievant 
attended training or conducted other duties for the Agency, he worked in excess of 40 
hours per week.  Thus, only the Overtime Policy would be applicable to his 
circumstances. 
 
 The purpose of DHRM Policy 3.15, Overtime Leave, is to provide “guidelines to 
agencies for awarding overtime leave in lieu of overtime compensation when 
appropriate.”  Under this policy: 
 

[a]gencies may elect to grant overtime leave instead of overtime pay when 
an employee covered by the FLSA (non-exempt) works more than 40 
hours in any workweek. Only hours physically worked are used to 
determine if compensation for overtime is required. 

 
 Non-exempt employees working more than 40 hours in a standard workweek are 
entitled to be paid for their overtime work.  DHRM Policy 3.15, however, changes the 
Agency’s obligation from paying money to the employee to “paying” the employee with 
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additional leave.  It is the Agency’s sole discretion as to whether to change its obligation 
to a non-exempt employee from money as the form of compensation to leave as the 
form of compensation. 
 
 “Agencies must provide written notification to affected employees of the decision 
to grant overtime leave prior to the performance of the overtime work.”  In Grievant’s 
case, the Agency did not provide him with written notification that the overtime he 
worked would be treated as overtime leave.  Thus, there is no basis to consider 
Grievant’s Honor Leave as overtime leave.  
 
 “It is not necessary to inform employees each time they work overtime, if there is 
an agency policy that states when overtime leave will be granted in lieu of overtime pay 
and if that policy is clearly communicated to all affected employees.”  In Grievant’s case, 
there is no agency policy stating when overtime leave will be granted in lieu of overtime 
pay.  Grievant presented evidence of an informal practice within his work unit.  Even if 
the Hearing Officer were to consider that informal practice to be an agency policy, that 
practice was not “clearly communicated to all affected employees.”  Grievant’s 
Supervisor, the Lead Technician, and several other employees in Grievant’s work unit 
seemed to have materially different understandings of what was the actual practice to 
be followed.   
 
 “Employees must request and receive approval from their supervisors to use 
overtime leave.  Failure to obtain approval, however, will not remove the agency’s 
obligation to compensate an eligible employee for overtime worked.”  Grievant did not 
have written approval from the Agency to be granted overtime leave and he did not 
receive approval from his supervisor to use overtime leave.  The Agency may remain 
obligated to pay Grievant for the overtime he worked, but that is not an issue before the 
Hearing Officer.  Grievant is not seeking money payment for overtime he worked in 
2007 and before.  Grievant is seeking to have the Hearing Officer force the Agency to 
treat some of his Honor Leave as overtime leave and have that leave applied to his 
shortfall of hours worked on November 20, 2007.  The Hearing Officer does not have 
the authority to force the Agency to treat Grievant’s overtime worked as overtime leave 
and then apply that overtime leave to November 20, 2007.   
 
 One could argue that the Agency is treating Grievant unfairly.  Grievant is 
obligated to follow the instructions of his supervisors and Agency managers.  He can be 
disciplined for failure to do so.  Grievant was instructed to maintain an informal tally of 
the hours of overtime he worked and told that he would be able to use those hours to 
justify his time away from work.  Grievant complied with his supervisor’s instructions and 
acted in good faith.  The Agency, however, might argue that it is obligated to comply 
with DHRM policies regardless of what informal policies some of its managers and 
supervisors adopt on their own without authorization to do so.  The Agency’s obligation 
to comply with DHRM policy may be more important than the consequences to one of 
its employees who may have been acting in good faith. 
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 The Hearing Officer has only that authority given to him by Virginia statute, the 
Grievance Procedure Manual, and the Rules for Conducting Grievance Hearings.  
Resolving an issue of whether Grievant was treated fairly is a question of equity.  The 
Hearing Officer has not been granted equity authority.2  Indeed, Section VI(A) of the 
Rules for Conducting Grievance Hearings provides: 
 

Thus, in fashioning relief, the reasonableness of an established policy or 
procedure itself is presumed, and the hearing officer has no authority to 
change the policy, no matter how unclear, imprudent or ineffective he 
believes it may be.  Further, a hearing officer is not a "super-personnel 
officer."  Therefore, in providing any remedy, the hearing officer should 
give the appropriate level of deference to actions by agency management 
that are found to be consistent with law and policy. 

 
In short, there is no basis upon which the Hearing Officer can grant relief to Grievant 
under the facts of this case with the authority given to the Hearing Officer. 
 

 
DECISION 

 
 For the reasons stated herein, Grievant’s request for relief is denied.  

 
 

APPEAL RIGHTS 
 

 You may file an administrative review request within 15 calendar days from the 
date the decision was issued, if any of the following apply: 
 
1. If you have new evidence that could not have been discovered before the hearing, 

or if you believe the decision contains an incorrect legal conclusion, you may 
request the hearing officer either to reopen the hearing or to reconsider the decision. 

 
2. If you believe the hearing decision is inconsistent with state policy or agency policy, 

you may request the Director of the Department of Human Resource Management 
to review the decision.  You must state the specific policy and explain why you 
believe the decision is inconsistent with that policy.  Please address your request to: 

 
Director 
Department of Human Resource Management 
101 North 14th St., 12th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23219 

 

                                                           
2   Although the Hearing Officer has been granted authority to mitigate, that authority applies only with 
respect to disciplinary actions.  This grievance does not involve disciplinary action. 
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3. If you believe that the hearing decision does not comply with the grievance 
procedure, you may request the Director of EDR to review the decision.  You must 
state the specific portion of the grievance procedure with which you believe the 
decision does not comply.  Please address your request to: 

 
Director 
Department of Employment Dispute Resolution 
830 East Main St.  STE 400 
Richmond, VA 23219 

 
 You may request more than one type of review.  Your request must be in writing 

and must be received by the reviewer within 15 calendar days of the date the decision 
was issued.  You must give a copy of all of your appeals to the other party and to the 
EDR Director.  The hearing officer’s decision becomes final when the 15-calendar day 
period has expired, or when administrative requests for review have been decided. 
 
  You may request a judicial review if you believe the decision is contradictory to 
law.  You must file a notice of appeal with the clerk of the circuit court in the jurisdiction 
in which the grievance arose within 30 days of the date when the decision becomes 
final.3   
 
[See Sections 7.1 through 7.3 of the Grievance Procedure Manual for a more detailed 
explanation, or call EDR’s toll-free Advice Line at 888-232-3842 to learn more about 
appeal rights from an EDR Consultant]. 
 
 

 S/Carl Wilson Schmidt  
 ______________________________ 

        Carl Wilson Schmidt, Esq. 
        Hearing Officer 
 
 
 

   

                                                           
3  Agencies must request and receive prior approval from the Director of EDR before filing a notice of 
appeal. 
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